Quick Links

E-mail Article

Programs: Deaf and Hard of Hearing Programs: Fairwood Preschool

Working...

Ajax Loading Image

 

Fairwood Preschool

543 E. Taylor Road
Lombard, IL 60148
Phone: (630) 705 - 0691
Fax: (630) 705 - 1015
 

Click here to download the 2013-14 calendar

DHH Cooordinator:
 

Stacy Wentz: swentz@sased.org

Secretary:
Sue Overton
soverton@sased.org

Teachers:
 

Kim Birch: kbirch@sased.org

Kristine Chaplin: kchaplin@sased.org

Melinda Harold: mharold@sased.org

Jessica Holle: jholle@sased.org

 

Support Staff:

Social Worker: Jennifer Dowling: jdowling@sased.org

Speech/language: Shannon Bohnert: sbohnert@sased.org

Speech/language: Jennifer Gusentine: jgusentine@sased.org

Physical Therapist: Kathleen Erpenback: kerpenback@sased.org

Occupational Therapist: Jennifer Hart: jhart@sased.org

 

Other Links:
http://fairwoodpreschool.doodlekit.com  

 

Fairwood Preschool is a program for three to five year old children who are deaf or hard of hearing.  Full or half day sessions are available five days a week.  The school has four classes that provide an environment that is child friendly and rich in communication and language building experiences.  There are two total communication classrooms where visual supports and sign language are used in all but one class and two auditory oral classrooms where students develop listening and spoken language through audition.  All the children use either hearing aids or cochlear implants.  Some students are provided with an FM system based on the SASED audiologist’s recommendations.  A full range of therapies are available dependent on the child’s individual needs.  All teachers are certified to instruct children who are deaf or hard of hearing.  All support staff are experienced in working with children who have hearing impairments.  Parents are encouraged to visit and participate in school activities.  Sign language classes and parent information nights are also scheduled throughout the school year.


 

 

 
 

Back To Top