Quick Links

E-mail Article

Programs: Deaf and Hard of Hearing Programs: North School

Working...

Ajax Loading Image

 

North School

September 28, 2010

North School
150 W. Sunset Villa Park, IL 60181
Phone: 630-516-7629 (DHH)   630-516-7790 (Main Office)
Fax: 630-530-1385

Click here to download the 2013-14 calendar

Principal: Fred Leinweber: fleinweber@d45.org

SASED Administrators: 

Shelley Rowland: srowland@sased.org

Stacy Wentz: swentz@sased.org

Joyce Zimmerman jzimmerman@sased.org

Secretary:  Sue Overton soverton@sased.org

Teachers:
Dawn Ryan - kdg./1st grade
dryan@sased.org
Carol Rudy - K/1st grades:
crudy@sased.org
Denise Lusk - 2nd/3rd grades: 
dlusk@sased.org
Billie Franger - 2nd - 4th grade:
bfranger@sased.org
Denise Hage - 3rd/4th grades:  dhage@sased.org

Support Staff:
Counselor – Robin Cullen: 
rcullen@sased.org
Speech/language Pathologist
Lynn Thielsen: lthielsen@sased.org                               Speech/language – Samantha Hartmann: shartmann@sased.org
Speech/language – Micki Larson:
mlarson@sased.org
Occupational Therapy –
Sue Novak: snovak@sased.org
Physical Therapy – Dina Barajaz: 
dbarajaz@sased.org

 

The deaf and hard of hearing program at North School provides classes for students needing self contained or mainstream experiences.  Students are welcomed at all of North School’s activities. The amount of mainstreaming is determined by the child’s IEP.  Sign language interpreters are provided for all mainstream activities. Total communication is the program’s philosophy, therefore teachers use speech and sign language for all instruction.  Other visual supports such as Visual Phonics, PECS, and Color Coded Language are used to teach language and communication skills.  All staff are certified and experienced in working with students who are deaf/hard of hearing.  Most of the staff hold master’s degrees.

 
 

Back To Top